Rockschool Classics Guitar Grades 6 - 8

Rockschool Classics Guitar Grades 6 - 8

Choose a product

The Rockschool Classics Guitar Grades 6-8 Compendium book presents six of the world's iconic rock tracks. From Metallica to Queens of the Stone Age, learn all the technique you'll need to play them in your exam, using the supplied audio, backing tracks and Fact Files.

Key Features at Grades 6-8

  • All five shapes of the minor pentatonic scales
  • Articulated chromatic runs, natural harmonic melodies, natural and pinched harmonics
  • Dorian, Lydian and Phrygian modes
  • Whole tone, diminished and altered scales
  • Stylistic study and session work
  • List
    • Six iconic rock tracks
    • Standard Guitar Notation
    • Choose three pieces from Rockschool Classics to play in your Grade Exam or five to play in you Performance Certificate
    • Fact Files: band and artist background info, with recommended listening
    • Walkthroughs: in-depth guidance on every track
    • Downloadable audio: easily access audio content online
  • paper
  • music note

    Grade 6

    • AC/DC - "You Shook Me All Night Long"
    • Queens of the Stone Age - "No One Knows"

    Grade 7

    • Foo Fighters - "Rope"
    • Iron Maiden - "2 Minutes to Midnight"

    Grade 8

    • King's X - "We Were Born To Be Loved"
    • Metallica - "Holier Than Thou"
  • paper

    There are no supporting tests in this book.

  • Tick

    No One Knows-(audio)

    The backing track has been updated, and is available to download in the book audio zip file (Updated 18th July 2022)

    We Were Born To Be Loved (audio)Backing track has been updated, and is available to download in book audio zip file

    Pages 39-46

    Holier Than Thou,

    If your edition of the book is 104 bars long, bar 46 needs to be removed/ignored – cross out and renumber the bars that follow. The bar numbers quoted in the remainder of this report assumes this renumbering has been done.

    Bar 65 (1st bar of Section D)Tablature removed from below the (tied to) notes on the first eighth-note of beat 4.

    Bar 67The three G graces notes (beats 1, 2 and 4) have been moved up a tone to A (14th fret of the 3rd string).

    Bars 71 & 72These bars have been updated with new content. See updated PDF available in book download. (Updated 24 Sep 2020)

    Pages 5-10

    You Shook Me All Night Long

    Bar 19: Tablature removed from beat 1 and ties added before the chord to show it is tied from the final chord in bar 16.

    Bar 26: The last chord in the bar is now tied to the first chord in the following bar.Bar 29: Tablature removed from beat 1 and ties added before the chord to show it is tied from the final chord in bar 26.

    Bar 29: Chord name on beat 4 & changed to Dsus4

    Bar 35: The PM indication now ends on the first eighth-note of beat 4.

    Bar 39: Repick indication added to the first eight-note of beat 2 (Updated 14 July 2020)

    Pages 25-30


    The guitar part in bar 35 has been changed and now matches the part played in bar 37. (Updated 14 July 2020)

    Pages 39–46

    Holier Than Thou

    Bar 46 has been removed. (bar numbers for the other corrections in this report refer to their position before removal of this bar. If bar 46 in the copy you are reviewing contains the same content as bar 45 then all the edits in this report have been made to it).

    Newer issues of the book have had the Walkthrough on page 46 updated to reflect these changes.Bar 66 Tablature removed from the tied notes in beat 4.

    Bar 72/73 These bars have been updated with new content. (Updated 14 July 2020)

    Pages 39–46

    Holier Than Thou - The graces notes in bar 68 (p.43) have been moved up a tone to A on the 14th fret of the 3rd string. (Updated 19 May 2020)

  • paper

    Learn more about the Electric Guitar Syllabus


Instant Delivery on Digital Products and Exam Purchases

Shop now and access immediately via your secure account!


Secure and easy to use

Access your orders and manage your exam entries in one central location: your RSL secure account.


Dedicated support from our team of experts

Can’t find what you’re looking for? Get in touch!

Digital Files

For the RSL shop we’ve chosen the most widely used media for ease of use and flexibility when transferring across different devices.

Every complete digital book (e.g. Electric Guitar Grade 1) includes:

  • PDF sheet music
  • MP3 audio
  • Supporting tests

Download Limits

We know downloading digital content can be frustrating at times which is why we’ve given you multiple chances to download your audio and sheet music.

Each complete digital book purchased includes:

  • 5 audio downloads
  • 3 sheet music downloadsThis means if you misplace your content, or if your download times-out, you’ll still have plenty of attempts to download your content.

Purchase Options

1. Hard Copy

The hard copy or paperback version can be purchased from our shop for shipping to the UK. Orders for shipping to other countries can be placed via The paperback version includes everything you need for your exam in one essential book, including sheet music, a code for access to MP3 audio and complete supporting tests.

2. Digital Download (where applicable)

Digital downloads is the most popular way of purchasing and downloading a Rockschool book, track or supporting test. Rockschool digital book downloads come complete with PDF sheet music, MP3 audio and supporting tests for instant accessibility on all your favourite devices.

Note: Digital sheet music is stamped with your email address and order number.

3. Digital Download + E-Book Access

The RSL e-books, utilising Learning Platform technology powered by MatchMySound, are the ultimate practise tool, giving you the ability to master your instrument like never before.

Choose which region you would like to view products for

Our products are country specific, please select which country you would like to shop for.

View Cart